How to Borrow Library Books on Kobo and Kindle (2026)

Kobo borrows on the device itself; Kindle borrows through the Libby app and Amazon — here's how both routes actually work in 2026.

Borrowing library books onto an e-reader is free, and it is the single feature that most often decides between Kobo and Kindle — yet it is also where readers hit the most friction. One r/kindle reader put the sharpest version of the problem in a single breath: “I got very frustrated the first time my loan expired in the middle of the book I was reading because who wants to wait weeks to be able to finish a book?!”

This guide covers both routes as they actually work in 2026: Kobo’s built-in OverDrive, where you borrow on the device itself, and Kindle’s Libby-app route, which runs through your phone and Amazon — and, in practice, mainly in the US.

The Short Verdict

  • Borrow mostly on the device itself, or outside the US → Kobo. The OverDrive borrowing is built into the reader: browse your library’s catalogue and borrow without a phone or computer in the middle. Kobo’s 2026 lineup runs Clara BW at $159.99, Clara Colour at $179.99, Libra Colour at $259.99, and Elipsa 2E at $399.99.
  • Already deep in Amazon’s store, and in the US → Kindle. Borrowing works, but it is a handoff: you borrow in the Libby app, choose “Read with Kindle,” confirm on Amazon, and the book is delivered to your Kindle. It is the only library route Kindle offers, and it is effectively US-only.
  • Borrow from more than one library → read the multi-card section before you buy. Kobo announced multi-library-card support on October 22, 2026, and it is now live as an opt-in beta (Kobo software 6.0+, Libra Colour / Clara Colour / Clara BW only, staged rollout) — not yet on stable firmware or all models. This guide treats it as beta-only, not generally available.

The Two Routes at a Glance

Kobo (OverDrive built in)Kindle (Libby app + Amazon)
Where you borrowOn the e-reader itselfIn the Libby app on your phone or computer
What you needA library card from a participating libraryA library card, the Libby app, and an Amazon account
Outside the USOverDrive borrowing covers the US and parts of other countriesEffectively US-only
CostFree with a library cardFree with a library card
The catchOne library account at a time on stable firmware; multi-card is in opt-in 6.0 beta only (see below)A multi-step handoff, and no borrowing from inside the device

Borrowing on Kobo: OverDrive Built Into the Device

Kobo’s advantage is that the library is inside the reader. From the device you open the OverDrive section, sign in with your library card, browse your library’s catalogue, and borrow. The book then syncs to your Kobo library. There is no phone or computer in the middle — one Best Buy reviewer of the Kobo Clara BW called library compatibility “the #1 feature I needed,” and that is exactly the use case Kobo built for.

What to know before you count on it:

  • Your library sets the rules, not Kobo. Loan length, how many books you can borrow at once, and how many holds you can place are all set by your library.
  • You need a participating library card. OverDrive is the system most public libraries use, but not every library participates, and coverage varies by country. If your library is not on OverDrive, the built-in borrowing has nothing to connect to.
  • The flow is: sign in once, borrow, sync. If a borrowed book does not appear, a manual sync is the first thing to try — the book is tied to your OverDrive sign-in, not to a file you downloaded yourself.

Borrowing on Kindle: The Libby-App Route

Kindle has no OverDrive browser built into the device. Library borrowing on a Kindle runs through Libby, OverDrive’s app, and it works like this:

  1. Borrow in Libby. Find the book in the Libby app on your phone or computer and borrow it with your library card.
  2. Choose “Read with Kindle.” Libby offers this option for titles your library lends in Kindle format.
  3. Confirm on Amazon. You are taken to Amazon to confirm the delivery — this is the step where the book is handed from your library loan to your Kindle account.
  4. The book arrives on your Kindle. It syncs to the device over Wi-Fi like any other Kindle book.

Two limits matter more than the steps:

  • It is effectively US-only. Kindle’s Libby borrowing is a US arrangement. Outside the US, library borrowing on a Kindle largely is not available at all — which is why this guide steers non-US readers to Kobo first.
  • The handoff can break. One r/kindle reader described it plainly: “It has worked fine with no issue, until one day I tried to download a book and suddenly I can no longer access a library book on my kindle!” When a loan does not show up, check the chain in order: is the loan still active in Libby, did the Amazon confirmation complete, and is the Kindle on Wi-Fi and synced? Most failures sit at one of those three links.

For books you already own as files, our guide to sending EPUBs to Kindle covers the other route onto the device.

The One-Card Limit — and the Multi-Card Update Now in Beta

This is the sharpest pain in Kobo’s library experience, and readers describe it the same way in thread after thread. One r/kobo reader expected the obvious and got a surprise: “I figured I’d sign out and log into a different library account and all my checkout books would be there.” Another put the daily cost plainly: “It is extremely annoying to have to log in and out when a new book comes in from a different library.” Best Buy reviewers of the Clara BW say the same thing in their own words — one wished the device “supported multiple Libby/Overdrive library cards because I do have library cards for libraries [that] use Libby as well,” and another noted the device “can be linked with only one library account.”

The situation today is exactly that: one library account linked at a time on a Kobo. If you hold cards at two libraries, you sign out of one and into the other to reach the second catalogue. Books borrowed under the first card stay in your library, but reaching the second library’s catalogue means switching accounts.

The update, now partly live: Kobo announced multi-library-card support on October 22, 2026, and it arrived in the opt-in Kobo software 6.0 beta (reported November 5, 2026). Kobo’s own Libby help page now says “Can I use multiple library cards in Libby? Yes. Libby supports adding multiple libraries and library cards,” and the 6.0 beta release notes say you can link up to 6 library cards to your Kobo account at kobo.com/librarycards — but you must re-link your existing card after updating, and cards are now linked to your Kobo account rather than to one e-reader.

The limits that still matter: the beta is opt-in and rolling out in stages, only for the Libra Colour, Clara Colour, and Clara BW — Elipsa 2E and older models are not covered yet — and Kobo’s own help pages disagree on the cap (one page says up to five cards, the beta release notes say six), so this guide does not state a firm number. Beta builds have also had reported bugs, including lost books/notes on some updates. Buy on the one-card reality unless you are on the 6.0 beta on one of those three models; do not buy any other Kobo on the promise of multi-card yet.

Holds, Loan Periods, and the Slow-Reader Problem

Library borrowing has one structural frustration that no device solves: the wait. “My library often has a physical copy with zero wait, while libby is months long,” one reader noted — digital copies are licensed per library, so a popular title can have a hold queue months deep while the paper copy sits on a shelf.

The loan itself is the second squeeze. Your library sets the loan period, and if you read slowly, the clock is the enemy. One reader explained the household math: “I normally finish a book within the 2-3 week loan, but he can take up to two months with a book.” That is the exact situation behind the expired-mid-book frustration this guide opened with.

What you can actually do about it:

  • Place holds early and borrow when you are ready to read. A hold that arrives during a busy week is a loan that expires unread.
  • Renew when your library allows it. Many libraries let you renew if nobody else is waiting — check in Libby or OverDrive before the due date, not after.
  • Re-borrow and rejoin the queue. If a loan expires mid-book, you can usually borrow it again — but you go to the back of the hold queue, which is why the expiry stings.

Which Route Fits Your Reading?

Choose Kobo if…
…library books are a main source, not a side experiment. Borrowing on the device, without a phone in the middle, is the whole point — and outside the US it is effectively the only route that works. The cheapest way in is the Clara BW at $159.99; the Libra Colour at $259.99 adds physical page-turn buttons and a colour screen for covers and comics. Just go in knowing the one-card limit is real today.

Links on this page may earn us a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Choose Kindle if…
…you are in the US and most of your reading is bought from Amazon anyway. The Libby handoff is a few extra taps per borrow, and for a reader who borrows occasionally it is a small tax on an otherwise settled setup. The Paperwhite at $199.99 with ads ($219.99 ad-free) is the default pick, with warm light, waterproofing, and the longest battery in the Kindle line. Our Paperwhite review covers the hardware in detail.

Choose neither yet if…
…your whole plan is borrowing from several libraries on one device. That is the one case where the honest answer is to wait — or to buy a Libra Colour, Clara Colour, or Clara BW and opt into the 6.0 beta, accepting beta bugs and a staged rollout: multi-card is live there, but not yet on stable firmware or other models, and Kindle has no on-device borrowing to offer instead.

FAQs

Is borrowing library books on a Kobo or Kindle free?
Yes — with a library card from a participating library, borrowing costs nothing. The e-reader is the only purchase.

Can I borrow library books on a Kindle outside the US?
Effectively no. Kindle’s Libby route is a US arrangement, and outside the US library borrowing on a Kindle largely is not available. Kobo’s built-in OverDrive covers the US and parts of other countries.

Can a Kobo link more than one library card?
Yes — but only in the opt-in Kobo software 6.0 beta, on the Libra Colour, Clara Colour, or Clara BW. Kobo announced it on October 22, 2026, and the beta (reported November 5, 2026) lets you link multiple cards at kobo.com/librarycards; you must re-link your existing card after updating. On stable firmware, and on all other models, it is still one library account at a time. Kobo’s own pages disagree on the cap (five vs six cards), so this guide does not state a firm number.

Why isn’t my Libby book showing up on my Kindle?
Work the chain in order: confirm the loan is still active in Libby, confirm the Amazon delivery step completed, then check the Kindle is on Wi-Fi and synced. If the loan expired, the book leaves the device.

Do borrowed books expire on the device?
Yes — when the loan period ends, the book becomes unreadable until you borrow it again. The file does not stay yours.

The Bottom Line

For library readers, the device choice is really a borrowing-flow choice. Kobo borrows on the reader itself and works beyond the US, with the one-card limit as its honest drawback on stable firmware — multi-card is now in the opt-in 6.0 beta for three models only. Kindle borrows through the Libby app and Amazon, works well enough in the US, and asks for a few extra taps per book. Pick the flow that matches where you live and how often you borrow — and if multiple library cards are your whole system, either wait for the 6.0 beta to reach stable firmware, or buy one of the three covered models and opt into the beta with your eyes open.

Affiliate Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.